Wave around the world 

A project conceived and produced by BNP Paribas

BionicoHand

A bionic, open source prosthetic hand

Project initiated in 2013 at Rennes

Created by the My Human Kit association, BionicoHand is an enhanced (poly-digital) myoelectric prosthesis, designed to help people with hand-related disabilities to regain their independence in their daily lives (social life, work, transport, etc.). Entirely open source and printed in 3D, the most remarkable feature of the prosthesis, developed by Nicolas Huchet and his team of enthusiasts, is its low manufacturing cost compared to the tens of thousands of euros needed to buy one manufactured using ‘traditional’ production techniques.

BionicoHand at the Geek Picnic in St Petersburg (Russia) in August 2014. From left to right: Thomas Meghe, Nicolas Huchet, and Elena Anfalova. © Thomas Mortier

BionicoHand at the Geek Picnic in St Petersburg (Russia) in August 2014. From left to right: Thomas Meghe, Nicolas Huchet, and Elena Anfalova. © Thomas Mortier

BionicoHand at the New York Maker Faire on 20/9/14. © Richard De Logu

BionicoHand at the New York Maker Faire on 20/9/14. © Richard De Logu

Students at the technical high school in Cesson-Sévigné (35) participate in manufacturing the hand. © Miguel Templon

Students at the technical high school in Cesson-Sévigné (35) participate in manufacturing the hand. © Miguel Templon

The composition of the team changes frequently and includes nearly a dozen people (a person with disabilities, an engineer, a student, etc.). At the Ecole des Beaux Arts in Rennes, July 2014. © Thomas Mortier

The composition of the team changes frequently and includes nearly a dozen people (a person with disabilities, an engineer, a student, etc.). At the Ecole des Beaux Arts in Rennes, July 2014. © Thomas Mortier

« The real change is the access to digital tools. Everyone who wants to can learn.  »

History of the project

Nicolas Huchet, whose right hand was amputated when he was 18 after an accident at work (2002), was given a myoelectric (opposable pinch) prosthesis whose functionality was very limited. He knew that there were new prostheses described as “poly-digital” (able to grasp with more than one finger), but he was also aware of their exorbitant price, which is not reimbursed by social security... He discovered a fab lab in Rennes, his home town, in October 2012, and asked the makers from LabFab if it was possible to manufacture a robotic hand. They listened and took his question seriously, then talked to him in more detail about 3D printing and open source design (Arduino, Thingiverse, InMoov, etc.).

A whole world opened up in front of Nicolas. He became aware of the power of ordinary people to change things. Encouraged by those around him, he launched BionicoHand in February 2013. His idea was to use this technology to help other disabled people, both in France and in developing countries. To get things moving, he got involved with research and development projects at Johns Hopkins University (Washington) and the BioRobotics Institute of Pisa (Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna).

In October 2013, the Maker Faire of Rome, one of the key events for makers of all kinds, presented BionicoHand with an award and gave it a truly international stage. The project has also received awards at Maker Faires in San Francisco, Paris and New York. A few weeks later, in January 2014, the association My Human Kit was created to give legal status to the project, so that it could obtain funding and collaborate more effectively with other players (universities, research centres, etc.). Now with a team of nearly a dozen people, Nicolas Huchet aspires to continue to develop BionicoHand so that he can keep changing his own future for the better, as well as the futures of other hand amputees. 

+10
people are working on the project
75
people out of the 300 who lose a hand each year in France choose a myoelectric prosthesis
200€
the average price of the open source prototype, compared to €30,000 to €70,000 for a commercially manufactured prosthesis, with no reimbursement from social security programmes
« BionicoHand still needs to find a business model to fund its research and development efforts, such as humanitarian projects »

Interview with Nicolas Huchet, creator of BionicoHand

How does a myoelectric hand work?

It’s an electric hand controlled by muscle sensors. A bit like switches, they convert muscle contractions into instructions that control the prosthesis. The electricity produced is sent to an electronic card, which controls the motors. These motors open or close the hand, following the muscular contraction.

What motivates you?

My primary motivation is to improve my own situation. I’ve had a prosthesis for 12 years, and I know that they’ve come a long way, and they now allow quite a lot of movement. But they’re prohibitively expensive. I want to break down that barrier. Apart from my own case, I want to help those who don’t have access to this technology, both in France and abroad. It’s true to say that this commitment is something that makes my life and my accident meaningful – and what’s more, it lets me indulge my passion for technology...

And what are your plans for the future?

With My Human Kit and the other makers who are involved, I’d like to find sponsors or launch a crowdfunding campaign to build a handilab – a place dedicated to health-related projects (hearing aids, eyeglasses, sonar, and so forth). But these are areas that are beyond my skill set! The coming months will also be devoted to creating a business model for BionicoHand, because as it stands, I don’t really have the means to develop it.

Flora Clodic-Tanguy

« Now that I’ve been able to improve my own situation, I want to share these advantages with others. »

Similar MORE WAVE projects :

Snootlab

Democratising maker technologies

> See the project

Snootlab

Democratising maker technologies

Norio

Château d’Oiron’s robot tour guide

> See the project

Norio

Château d’Oiron’s robot tour guide

Avro Tech - LeFabShop SAS

Digital fabrication solutions

> See the project

Avro Tech - LeFabShop SAS

Digital fabrication solutions

Wave dans le monde 

Un projet imaginé et produit par BNP Paribas

BionicoHand

Une prothèse de main bionique open source

Un projet initié en 2013 à Rennes

Porté par l’association My Human Kit, BionicoHand est un projet de prothèse myoélectrique améliorée (poly-digitale), destinée aux personnes handicapées de la main afin de retrouver une autonomie au quotidien (vie sociale, vie professionnelle, transport…). Entièrement open source, imprimée en 3D, la prothèse que développe Nicolas Huchet et son équipe de passionnés se distingue surtout par son faible coût de fabrication, qui tranche avec les dizaines de milliers d’euros nécessaires dans le commerce « traditionnel ».

En août 2014, Bionico Hand était présent au Geek Picnic de St Petersbourg (Russie). De gauche à droite, Thomas Meghe, Nicolas Huchet, Elena Anfalova. ©Thomas Mortier

En août 2014, Bionico Hand était présent au Geek Picnic de St Petersbourg (Russie). De gauche à droite, Thomas Meghe, Nicolas Huchet, Elena Anfalova. ©Thomas Mortier

Bionico Hand à la Maker Faire de New York, le 20/09/14. © Richard De Logu

Bionico Hand à la Maker Faire de New York, le 20/09/14. © Richard De Logu

Les élèves du lycée technique de Cesson-Sévigné (35) participent à la fabrication de la main. © Miguel Templon

Les élèves du lycée technique de Cesson-Sévigné (35) participent à la fabrication de la main. © Miguel Templon

L'équipe est mouvante et comporte une dizaine de personnes (handicapé, ingénieur, étudiant...). Ici, en juillet 2014, à l’Ecole des Beaux Arts de Rennes. © Thomas Mortier

L'équipe est mouvante et comporte une dizaine de personnes (handicapé, ingénieur, étudiant...). Ici, en juillet 2014, à l’Ecole des Beaux Arts de Rennes. © Thomas Mortier

« Le vrai changement, c’est l’accès aux outils numériques. Chacun peut apprendre s’il le souhaite.  »

Historique du projet

Amputé de la main droite à 18 ans, après un accident du travail (2002), Nicolas Huchet est équipé depuis d’une prothèse myoélectrique (pince en opposition) dont les fonctionnalités restent très limitées. Le jeune rennais sait qu’il existe de nouvelles prothèses dites « poly-digitales », mais il en connait aussi le prix exorbitant, non remboursé par la sécurité sociale… Il découvre le fablab de sa ville en octobre 2012 et demande aux makers du LabFab s’il est possible de fabriquer une main robot. Ils l’écoutent et le prennent au sérieux, avant de lui parler plus en détail de l’impression 3D et de l’open source (Arduino, Thingiverse, InMoov…).

Un monde entier s’ouvre devant Nicolas. Il prend conscience du pouvoir des citoyens de changer les choses. Encouragé par son entourage, il lance BionicoHand en février 2013. Son idée, c’est de faire profiter de cette technologie d’autres personnes handicapées, en France mais aussi dans les pays plus défavorisés. Pour faire bouger les choses, il s’intègre à des projets de recherche et développement à l’Université Johns Hopkins (Washington) ainsi qu'au centre Bio Robotique de Pise (Scuola Superiore Sant´Anna).

En octobre 2013, la Maker Faire de Rome, un des grands rendez-vous des bidouilleurs en tous genres, récompense BionicoHand et lui offre véritablement une envergure internationale. Le projet sera aussi distingué à San Francisco, Paris et New York. Quelques semaines plus tard, en janvier 2014, l’association My Human Kit est créée, pour donner un statut juridique au projet et ainsi pouvoir obtenir des financements et collaborer davantage avec d’autres acteurs (universités, centres de recherche…). Désormais entouré d’une dizaine de personnes, Nicolas Huchet rêve de développer davantage BionicoHand, pour pouvoir changer encore davantage son futur et celui des autres personnes amputées de la main.

+10
personnes travaillent sur le projet
75
personnes sur les 300 amputées de la main chaque année en France choisissent une prothèse myoélectrique
200€
le prix moyen du prototype open source contre 30 à 70000 € dans le commerce, sans remboursement de la sécurité sociale
« BionicoHand doit encore trouver un modèle économique pour financer la recherche et développer des actions, comme des missions humanitaires.  »

Interview de Nicolas Huchet, créateur

Comment fonctionne une main myoélectrique ?

C’est une main électrique commandée par des capteurs musculaires. Un peu à la manière d’interrupteurs, ils transforment les contractions des muscles en commande pour contrôler la prothèse. L'électricité produite est envoyée vers une carte électronique, qui commande les moteurs. Ces derniers ouvrent ou ferment la main, suivant la contraction musculaire.

Qu’est-ce qui vous motive ?

Ma première motivation, c’est d’abord d’améliorer ma situation. J’ai une prothèse depuis 12 ans et je sais qu’aujourd’hui, leurs progrès sont énormes et permettent quantités de mouvements. Sauf qu’elles sont hors de prix. Je veux faire tomber cet obstacle-là. Au-delà de mon propre cas, j’ai envie d’aider ceux qui n’ont pas accès à cette technologie, en France et à l’étranger. Je dois le dire : cet engagement donne un sens à ma vie et à mon accident en plus qu’il me permet d’assouvir ma passion de la technologie…

Et quels sont vos projets à venir ?

Avec My Human Kit et d’autres makers impliqués, j’aimerais trouver des sponsors ou lancer un crowdfunding pour monter un handilab, c’est-à-dire un lieu dédié aux projets de santé (prothèses auditives, lunettes, sonar…). Mais ce sont des domaines hors de mes compétences ! Les prochains mois seront aussi consacrés à l’élaboration du modèle économique de BionicoHand, car en l’état, je n’ai pas réellement les moyens de le développer.

Flora Clodic-Tanguy

« Maintenant que j’ai réussi à améliorer ma situation, j’ai envie de partager les privilèges. »

Projets + de wave similaires :

Snootlab

Démocratiser les technologies des makers

> Voir le projet

Snootlab

Démocratiser les technologies des makers

Norio

Le robot de visite du château d’Oiron

> Voir le projet

Norio

Le robot de visite du château d’Oiron

Avro Tech - LeFabShop SAS

Solutions de fabrication digitale

> Voir le projet

Avro Tech - LeFabShop SAS

Solutions de fabrication digitale