Wave around the world 

A project conceived and produced by BNP Paribas

Protei

Composition by Julien Taylor

Find out more about this current : Circular Economy

Following the oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico in 2010, César Harada, a Franco-Japanese environmentalist and project leader at MIT, designed an oil spill cleaning technology with his team. He ultimately decided to quit his job, however, because the research work, protected by patents on all sides, was unlikely to reach many of the people who would need to it most.

He decided to start over from scratch, focusing on an open source technology that was less expensive and relatively fast to develop. The Protei project was born: a drone capable of collecting 2 tons of spilled oil and other waste. His source of inspiration is nature: the hull of the boat is flexible, like the scales of a fish, and is perfectly resistant to waves.

Voluntary contributors from around the world (sailors, researchers, engineers, designers, entrepreneurs, manufacturers, etc.) are collaborating to develop a fleet of prototypes. And there’s no need for a research centre to bring innovators together – to talk, all they need is a Skype connection.

http://scoutbots.com/

Share this initiative on :

The other initiatives in this current

Beacon food forest

Everything that grows here is edible!

> See the initiative

Beacon food forest

Vauban

In Germany, a neighbourhood of 15,000 people who think in terms of “sharing” and “sustainable development”

> See the initiative

Vauban

The 5 collective ingenuity currents

as seen by Gobelins, THE SCHOOL OF THE IMAGE

Wave dans le monde 

Un projet imaginé et produit par BNP Paribas

Protei

Composition de Julien Taylor

Découvrir le courant : Économie circulaire

Lors de la marée noire dans le golfe du Mexique, en 2010, César Harada, environnementaliste franco-japonais, chef de projet au MIT, développe avec son équipe une technologie de nettoyage de la nappe de pétrole. Mais il finit par démissionner : protégé de toutes parts par des brevets, ce travail de recherche risque de ne pas servir au plus grand nombre.

Il décide de repartir à zéro en privilégiant une technologie en open source, peu coûteuse et rapide à développer. Le projet Protei est né : un drone qui sera capable de collecter 2 tonnes de pétrole et autres déchets. Sa source d’inspiration, c’est la nature : la coque du bateau est souple comme les écailles d’un poisson, et résiste parfaitement aux vagues.

Des contributeurs volontaires du monde entier (marins, chercheurs, ingénieurs, designers, entrepreneurs, industriels, etc.) participent à l’élaboration de nombreux prototypes. Pas besoin de centre de recherches pour innover à plusieurs, seulement de se retrouver sur Skype pour échanger.

http://scoutbots.com/

Partager l'initiative sur :

Les autres initiatives du courant

Beacon food forest

Tout ce qui y pousse est comestible !

> Voir l'initiative

Beacon food forest

Vauban

En Allemagne, un quartier de 15 000 habitants qui pensent « partage et développement durable »

> Voir l'initiative

Vauban

Les 5 courants de l'ingéniosité collective

VUS PAR GOBELINS, L’ÉCOLE DE L’IMAGE